Practicing what I preach…will always take a lot of practice!

Saying the right words and doing the right thing are often two totally different things. It’s the difference between knowledge and belief. Pastors know this personally as much as anyone. Every week they stand up and preach God’s Word. They SAY the right things (hopefully), but as they say them they are keenly aware of the fact that they don’t always live like they actually BELIEVE the words they speak. It’s a challenge that every pastor faces each time he shares God’s Word publicly.

This week God provided a very real and vivid test for me. I preached on Sunday from Psalm 24:1 “The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it.” I spoke boldly about how God owns everything and He entrusts to us blessings to use for the benefit of His Kingdom. Everything is God’s. Shoes, money, food, house, wife, kids, couch, and tv….all God’s, not mine. On Monday morning after I spoke all the right words about giving financial worries to God I got a phone call from someone in need. It was obvious to me that God was testing whether or not I would live out the truth of what I had spoken exactly 24 hours before.
By His Grace the Words of the Psalmist popped into my head…”The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it.” That Word from God enabled me to leave behind my worries about having enough and encouraged me to trust that God will provide. In that moment I was enabled to LIVE what I said.

I don’t share this to toot my own horn. My good works are nothing but filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6). Instead I share this to point out just how faithful God is. His Word produces fruit in his people, even in the guys who proclaim it week after week. Thanks be to God for His effective Word!

How has God’s Word effected YOU this week? I would love to hear some of your stories in the comments below.

This entry was posted in A Pastor's life for me, Christian Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practicing what I preach…will always take a lot of practice!

  1. david says:

    Is.55:10-12 “As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
    It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.
    You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills
    will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. ”
    It is real assurance that the words the preacher speaks are the Lord’s words. Even so, its always surprising to our human eyes when He brings us proof that people hear His Word proclaimed from human mouths. Encouraging, assuring, and humbling.

Leave a Reply

