Love is an active word…

I’m planning for a sermon on Sunday that looks at Romans 13:8-10 re: LOVE and the difference between saying “I love you” vs. showing “I love you.”

God doesn’t merely say it…He shows it, demonstrates it, achieves it, acts on it, expresses it…He LOVES.  For God, LOVE is an active word that is directly connected with sending Jesus for us:  For God so loved the world that He sent Jesus.  His love for us moved Him to ACT.

That love also moves us to act…

Our love for others is rooted in this ACTIVE LOVE of God:  “We love because He first loved us.”  (I John 4:19)  I’m thinking of all the people that God calls me to love:  My wife, my kids, my neighbors, my congregation, my community, etc.  If God didn’t love me by sitting on His couch…how can I possibly love others from the comfort of mine?

Lord, help me to know Your active Love and move me to share it with others.

This entry was posted in Christian Life, Who is Jesus?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

