Wonder…

I can see it in my kids eyes when they closely investigate the see-through-wings of a captured dragonfly.  You can see it on the expressions of those stepping out of the Subway onto Times Square for the first time.  You can feel it if you ever have the chance to gaze at the Northern Lights.  Wonder.

It’s almost too hard to even describe it, but you know when it happens you feel like you are so small and the world is so big.  It’s a little of what Isaiah was getting at when he wrote:

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. 

As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.                        —Isaiah 55:8-9

God evokes a sense of wonder in each of us who approach him with the humility to know who is who in our relationship.  He is higher.  His ways are better.  His thoughts are truer.  God is God, and I am not.

Yet, He treats me as an equal in calling me ‘friend’ and ‘brother.’  And, even more, He treats me as His master when He offers to wash my feet, put bread on my table, hear my prayers, and answer them.

That the God who created the Universe (such a wondrous display!) would choose to call me His own and offer me such wonderful gifts is the greatest wonder of all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

