Silly questions of wonder…

I wonder many things about life in eternity.  The Bible is pretty clear on several accounts: Those with Jesus are there by Grace through faith, and those who aren’t have rejected His love.  A new creation without darkness, sin, or death will be reality.  We can look forward to this life in a way that carries us through the darkest moments of this life.

While we have some details on life in eternity, I still have a lot of questions.  I am confident that nothing will really matter except that fact that we will be face to face with Jesus again, but I do wonder about some details.  Most of these are silly opportunities to wonder like the following:

Yesterday, Mariano Rivera set a new all time save record in baseball playing for my favorite New York Yankees.  He has been a favorite player of mine for years, and I’m really excited for him.  In reading up on “Mo” this past week I found out that he is a Christian…that’s always good news to hear about anyone!  In eternity I’m going to get to rub elbows with a lot of people, and I’m hoping to get to meet some of my heroes including the greatest closer of all time, Mariano Rivera.  Sports are a big part of my life in this world.  I love to play, I love to watch, and I love that my family loves to play and watch.  What will sports be like in eternity?  Will there be pick up games of basketball?  Will I be able to play hockey even though I can’t skate here?  What does sinless competition look like?  Does Jesus win all the time, or is it more in His character to be the water boy?

So I’ve got too much time on my hands if I’m wondering if I can dunk in heaven, that’s for sure, but it still won’t stop me from asking my next best silly heaven wonder: In heaven, will I be able to hit Mariano’s cutter?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silly questions of wonder…

  1. David says:

    I got pretty excited to read:

    ” I am confident that nothing will really matter except that fact that we will be face to face with Jesus again,”

    You’re the first one I’ve ever heard put it so simply and plainly without trying to fudge it. Nothing else will really matter. I’ve often wondered and marvelled that heaven could ONLY be a place where I am face-to-face with Jesus and nothing else will matter. How else is it possible that “…and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes” Rev.7:17 and ” I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4 ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’[b] or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” Rev. 21:3-4.

    If being in the presence of Jesus (in heaven) were not the only thing that mattered, I would surely have tears for those who ‘have rejected His love’ and who are not there. But if in heaven I only know the presence of God, the wonder and awesomeness of that presence, then I understand how there would be no tears.

    Just something to think about on a Tues afternoon in Sept.

Leave a Reply

