Lessons from Pre-school Bible Time…

A four year old taught me an important lesson on my relationship with God today. We were acting out the account of Noah and the ark by doing wild animal noises and rain drop finger movements like all the kids love. Then at the end our great Preschool director was leading the kids through a fun little song about Noah’s ark. The song says, “Noah obeyed!”
She paused and asked the kids if they knew what the word meant. One of my little friends, who is four years old, said, “It means that you really TRUST the person.”

I never thought of it that way before! Obedience happens because we TRUST the person who is asking us to do a specific task. My kids will obey me if they trust me. A basketball player will listen to her coach if she trusts that he knows the game. A soldier will go into heavy combat when he trusts his commander. Most importantly, we obey God when we have our trust in Him.
That means those times when I don’t obey happen in part because I don’t trust God. I don’t give generously as I should because I don’t trust that He will provide like He promises. I don’t share His Word boldly because I don’t trust it to work. I don’t pray because I don’t trust Him to hear and answer.
Obedience flows from a deep seated trust in the One who directs us. The question isn’t really about me and my ability to obey, but about God and the level of trust that He deserves. Which accounts in the Scriptures prove to you that God is worthy of TRUST? In the comments section below note an account, and even the chapter and verse if you have it. I’ll try to write some more thoughts on TRUST this week…Here’s a verse to start with:

Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all of your ways submit to Him and He will make your paths straight.”

Wow, that sounds a lot like the message I learned today: Obedience happens when we Trust God…today I learned that from a 4 year old!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons from Pre-school Bible Time…

  1. David says:

    I find Jesus’ command to His disciples to stay in Jerusalem until they receive a gift from His Father to prove I can trust Him to provide what I need.
    Acts 1:4-5 “wait for the gift my Father promised (you).
    and then the Holy Spirit comes to them at Pentecost and they can boldly proclaim His gospel to the same people they had been afraid of. Acts 2.

  2. To obey is indeed sewn together in trust. One can also see awareness of God’s Grace in obey. For to know that fountain that flows within you yet not of you is such a blessing that one wonders how am I even given such a well spring of His Love within me for I am tainted and tattered and not the place for the like. Its like a table setting of gold and silver laid out personally for a tired and dirty popper as he sits down to eat his supper in tattered clothes in a ramshackle house. He looks at the place setting and knows not why it sits before him laid out purposely for him. But, God’s gift of the Spirit and its fruits, love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, are His gifts not based on our tatter or ware nor are they based on our shimmer or sparkle. His gift is for His purpose, and for that we have been Graced with such a fountain that flows from within us through His Son who took the burden of all what was of us. To have but a site to what blessing we steward within us as only a gift that we ourselves do not warrant from even of all the best of what we are. In that very true awareness we see His Grace poured out upon us. To know His Grace convicts our heart to obey. At that point the obey is rather a willing offering and at that but a small offering back to God for the immense unmerited gift He has given us as His Love through His Grace. Its a blend of many passages.

    Colossians 1: 9-14
    9 For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,[e] 10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, 12 and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you[f] to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. 13 For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, 14 in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

    Luke 12:47-48
    47 “The servant who knows the master’s will and does not get ready or does not do what the master wants will be beaten with many blows. 48 But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.

    Ephesians 3:7
    I became a servant of this gospel by the gift of God’s grace given me through the working of his power.

Leave a Reply

