Seven Habits…#1d prayer

In my devotional time today I ran across a prayer that caught my attention:  “Make the church willing and ready to do Your work in prayer…”

I don’t often imagine prayer as God’s ‘work.’  In fact, prayer is often seen as the opposite…it’s what we do when we’re NOT working.  It’s time of rest.  It’s time of refreshment.  It’s time OFF.  This is why so many of us struggle with the amount of time we spend praying.  We have the feeling that while we’re sitting around doing nothing there are so many other things that are sitting around not getting done!

What would happen if I didn’t imagine prayer as rest from work, but as the central work that I do each day?  What if prayer was the most important thing that I did today?

Join with me in praying for the Church to pray like it matters:  Lord, make the Church willing and ready to do Your work in prayer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

