March 12: Wisdom= Trust!

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him,
 and he will make your paths straight.  Proverbs 3:5-6

I once heard a conversation about the difference between belief and trust.  A man was going to walk a tight rope across Niagra Falls.  Before he went across he asked the crowd, “Do you believe that I can walk across this rope and make it safely to the other side?”  The crowd roared with affirming appreciation!  You can do it!  He next pulled out a wheelbarrow, and asked “Who trusts me enough to go along for the ride?”  A silent crowd learned the difference between belief and trust.

Both are necessary aspects of faith.  Believing is important, but the active agent of belief is trust.  I can believe from my couch, but to really trust God I’ve got to be moving.  I might believe it’s important to serve the poor, but trusting God gets me out there really doing it.  I can believe that God says He’ll give me the right words to speak, but I really find out how to trust when I’m face to face with a person in need.  I might believe that God will provide for my needs, but I really need to trust Him to tithe and give generously.

Take a look at your faith life.  Are you believing from a distance, but not really trusting God?  Begin to change that one small step at a time.  The more you put your trust in Him with the small pieces of life, the more easily you’ll be able to trust when your entire life is on the line.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

