March 25: Wisdom= Generosity

“Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine.”  Proverbs 3:9-10

I found an old elementary school assignment in which I was asked to write about how I knew that my parents loved me.  I wrote:  “I know my parents love me because they feed me.”  A direct connection was made between my parents’ providing and my parents’ love.

Luther says the same thing in the explanation to the Apostles’ Creed.  “God gives me clothing and shoes, food and drink, house and home, wife and children, land, animals, and all I have.  He richly and daily provides all I need to support this body and life.”

The first way I know of God’s love is through His generosity!  There is a connection between God’s love and his provision.  Everything that I have, and I have MUCH, is a gift from my loving father.  A thankful heart is one way to honor God with my wealth!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

