April 7: Wisdom= Do unto others

“Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to act. Do not say to your neighbor, ‘Come back tomorrow and I’ll give it to you’— when you already have it with you.” Proverbs 3:27-28

I can hear the questions already: “How do you tell if a person is ‘due?’” “Is it really in my power to act?” “Who is my neighbor?” “But, if I give it away, I won’t have it for myself for tomorrow. Don’t I need to take care of my family first?”

These and many other questions come to mind, and often are used as excuses for why we don’t do good to others. I don’t want to give to someone who is just going to waste the gift! I don’t really know that guy on the street corner! I’d rather invest in my community! I need to save for a rainy day! You know how it goes.

I’ve got all sorts of excuses that save me from having to do good. However, none of them really hold up to the spirit of this Proverb. Instead of using this Proverb as a list of ways to get OUT of doing good, the intent of this Proverb is to get us thinking about looking for EVERY OPPORTUNITY to do good to others.

Look around and you’ll see many people who could use the good you will share. You don’t have to go far to see someone to love. Who will you do good for today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

