April 18: The Wisdom of Holy Week

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him,
 and he will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:5-6

“Father into your hands I commit my spirit.”  Jesus’ trust in His Father is remarkable.  There is more to life than living well.  Jesus teaches us also how to die well.  Dying well is all about trust, and Jesus had it in abundance.

Because Jesus trusted His father enough to die in His hands we get to live forever!  Psalm 23 is a psalm commonly prayed at funerals and even before, at the bedside of one who is departing this world for the next.  It is a powerful Scripture that helps to increase trust, and has helped many to die well.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul.
 He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    

your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;


you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
 all the days of my life,
 

and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Jesus trusted perfectly so we get to walk in paths of righteousness!  He died in His Father’s hands so we get to live!  He was covered in blood, sweat, and tears so we could be anointed as royalty!  Jesus became mortal so we could be immortal!  The great exchange goes on and on always in our favor!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

