Psalm 40:1,3 (Day 9/50)

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry…He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.” Psalm 40:1,3

This verse came to mind today as I drove on the interstate around Boston during the morning rush hour. Actually, I did less driving and more sitting in one place waiting for the vehicle in front of me to pull forward so I could pull forward. Bumper to bumper traffic gives one lots of time to think, and even more time to people watch. I saw lots of drivers. Most were looking at their phones. Many were fiddling with their hair. A couple were literally typing on laptops. Some were sipping coffee. Others were smoking. Many were talking on the phone. Every single one had the same expression on their face; bored bordering on bitterness and anger.

Everybody looked mad. Except one guy who was obviously enjoying some good music on the radio. This guy looked drastically different than every other driver. He was singing at the top of his lungs. He was dancing and moving with the beat. He was really grooving, and he had a HUGE smile on his face.

As I drove past I thought, “I want to be THAT guy.” Give me a song to sing! Or, as the Psalmist writes, “I waited patiently for the Lord and He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God…and to paraphrase: and He put a smile on my lips and a bounce in my step. He gave me a beat to move to.

I hope everybody gets to experience God like this!

Dear Jesus, Give me a new song to sing and a beat to dance to. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

