Psalm 30:11-12 (Day 14/50)

You turned my mourning into dancing;

    you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, 

that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.

    Lord my God, I will praise you forever. Psalm 30:11-12

If the Bible is true, then we should be able to find evidence of people’s lives changed by God. Look around you. Do you know of people whose mourning has been turned to dancing?

I saw the video of a young woman who had her leg amputated 6 months ago as a result of the Boston Marathon Bombing. Yesterday she ran on a prosthetic across the finish line on Boylston wearing a Boston Strong shirt! Her emotion was evident, and the smiles of the crowd were electrifying!

I know of many kids who have been rescued from orphanages and dangerous home situations. What used to be fear and crying has been turned to smiles and laughter!

I’ve seen people lose loved ones go through a time of mourning. And, while the loss never goes away, and won’t until we’re reunited in heaven; they’ve come through with a new sense of joy for the time they shared and the person they loved.

Speaking of being reunited in heaven. Sometimes the Scriptures will be totally fulfilled at a future date. Psalm 30:11-12 is one of those. I get to experience God’s love in Jesus TODAY as he turns my mourning to dancing, or works in the lives of my kids to bring hope, or as He works in lives of members of my congregation to see JOY, or as He transforms an entire city from one of terror to one of STRENGTH! These are only an appetizer to the celebration that will take place when Jesus comes to take us home. Mourning to Dancing! I better start working on my dance moves TODAY!

Dear Jesus, you alone turn our mourning into dancing. Bring us Hope and Joy! Amen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

