Deuteronomy 6:4-5 (Day 17/50)

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. Deuteronomy 6:4-5

One of the banners that occasionally hangs at Messiah Lutheran Church in Lynnfield, MA says, “Keep the main thing the main thing.” Like Deuteronomy 6, this phrase is easy to say, but hard to do. It’s hard to keep God FIRST above all else.

I was reminded of this verse tonight when I went grocery shopping. I went to buy baby food. My new foster daughters have started with sweet potatoes, and we needed another jar for breakfast. So, I decided to run out tonight to make sure we would be ready for breakfast.

I grabbed a cart and headed into the store. I stopped by the produce to grab some bananas and strawberries that were on sale. I always check to see what meats are on sale and try to buy low for our growing family. I traveled up and down the aisles picking out some items that caught my attention even though I only went to the store for one thing, the baby food.

When I got to the dairy aisle I knew I was about finished and started to think about what else I needed to get done tonight before bed. I grabbed some eggs, cheese, and yogurt, and checked the ice cream case for sales. Dessert in hand, I headed through the check out and out to the car. Unloading the car I thought about the job well done. I picked up enough groceries to get the family through the weekend well fed with healthy and tasty meals starting with breakfast tomorrow…Breakfast tomorrow!!! Oh no, I forgot the baby food! I went to the store for ONE THING, and I left without it. I got distracted by the fruit, the sales, and of course the ice cream. I got a lot of good things. Healthy food and food my family loves were purchased, bagged, and carried out to the car. But, I was distracted by all those good things, and forgot to keep the main thing the main thing. I failed to keep the most important thing in view, and was led astray by other good, but not as important things.

Life can be like this. We can get distracted by many things. Even good and healthy things can take our focus off of God. When we lose focus God becomes second, or third, or last; and other pieces of life move ahead. What are those things in your life that have gotten in the way of God being first?

Deuteronomy 6 gives us a healthy reminder to keep the main thing the main thing, to keep God first. When we don’t God is always there to remind us that He’s not just the most important thing in our life, but the most forgiving thing too! God’s abundant love is poured out in Jesus for you. Even though you put other things ahead of God, He always puts you first in Jesus!

Dear Jesus, Help me to love you first! Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

