Matthew 26:26 (Day 40/50)

“This is My body…” Matthew 26:26

We take Jesus at His word. He didn’t say, “Take, eat, this is like my body.” He didn’t say, “Take, eat, this represents my body.” He said, “This IS my body.”

We teach our 6-8th grade confirmation students that it’s ok to say, “I don’t know.” In fact, when it comes to the mysteries of God we BETTER say, “I don’t know.” How does the body of Jesus appear? I don’t know. How is it possible that Jesus’ body is present on our altar AND on an altar in Florida at the same time? I don’t know. How does Jesus actually show up in the bread and wine? I don’t know.

My eyes tell me one thing, but my faith tells me something else. My eyes see little wafers of bread and a sip of wine, but my faith says there is the forgiveness of sins! My eyes and my faith don’t always match up. That’s perfectly fine. We don’t have to be able to explain things in order to believe them. This gives me a ton of comfort because it reminds me that God is God and I am not. I can’t figure out all that He does. If I could I would be God and would take care of things on my own. But, I can’t, so I rely on what He’s already told me. If He tells me that this is His body. I believe it. How? I don’t know.

There are lots of other things I don’t know. I don’t know how the Trinity is the Trinity. I don’t know how Jesus is God and Man at the same time. I don’t know how I’m a saint and sinner at the same time. I don’t know why bad things happen to good people. I don’t know why God would love a guy like me so much that He would die for me. But, I believe it.

God is bigger than me, smarter than me, wiser than me, older and more experienced that me, more creative than me, and just plain better than me. His ways are not my ways. His thoughts are not my thoughts. If He says it’s His body, it is. I don’t know how, but I believe it.

Dear Jesus, I believe your word. Amen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

