Jesus directs all things. Ephesians 3

Ephesians 3

When something bad happens to me I often find a way to blame somebody. It’s either the fault of some other person, or it’s the devil’s attacks, or it’s just the result of the brokenness of this world. Sometimes (and this, of course, is very rare) it’s even MY fault. I don’t think I’m alone at looking at bad stuff like this.

I don’t think I’m alone, then, in saying that we all have something to learn from Paul. He doesn’t do this. He doesn’t look to place blame, he looks to find direction from Jesus!

Ephesians 3 begins with Paul’s statement of faith that all things happen for GOOD, even his imprisonment. I would have been blaming the judge, or the people who got me into this mess even though I was innocent. I would have been blaming the devil for designing a way for me to suffer. Paul doesn’t do any of that! He believes that he is a prisoner at the design of Jesus. He even goes on in vs. 13 to encourage the Church to celebrate his sufferings as their glory. Paul believed that all things were directed by Jesus for the benefit of His kingdom. To do this he had to rely completely on the Grace of God given in Jesus. We could use such faith today.

Dear Jesus, help me to Trust in your direction at all times and in all ways. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

